And so, it begins…

Hello,

My name is Alison Deplonty, and I’ll warn you now, I’m new to this.  I’m an Archaeology MA student (with an ever so evident Public History bent) at The University of Western Ontario.  My MA project involves the study of the complex interactions of actors and actants, and their effect on visitor experience, at archaeological site museums on the north coast of Peru.

Let’s just start with a little about me:

  • I graduated from Western with a BA, honours double major in Anthropology and History, in June 2011.
  • I love Peru and have been there twice for month long stints, first as part of an archaeological field school led by Dr. Jean-Francois Millaire, and second to do preliminary field work for my MA.
  • I have worked at two historic sites, Ermatinger Clergue National Historic Site in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, and Banting House National Historic Site of Canada in London, Ontario.
  • My passion is the public, and I feel it is the responsibility of professionals (and academics) to disseminate and mobilize their knowledge.

The purpose of this blog is to act as a hub of information for myself and those interested in my MA project, public history and public archaeology, and general information about my time in graduate school and transition into the working world.

Well, this seems like a good start, so…

Until next time.

About alisondeplonty

I am an Archaeology MA student at The University of Western Ontario, studying the complex interactions of actors and actants, and their effect on the visitor experience, at the archaeological site museum Huacas del Sol y de la Luna, Trujillo, Peru. Public historian and public archaeologist at heart-- dissemination is key!

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good for you! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

Leave a Reply

