Ready, Steady, Go!

So, one of the reasons I chose to start this blog when I did was because of the American Anthropological Association‘s annual conference which is taking place this week in Montreal. As a spur of the moment decision I decided to join a few friends on their trip to the conference two weeks ago. I knew I was going to need to start blogging before that since I wanted to be able to write about my trip– hence the inception of Memories Bookshelf on Sunday.

I’ve never been to Montreal, but I hear it is fabulous, which makes me very excited. I’m even more excited for all of the sessions with connections to memory, commemoration, heritage, and museums(!). Hopefully I’ll be able to take some good notes, which may act as jumping off points for my MA research and thesis. And besides being just an all around good time the trip will be an excellent opportunity to start networking and get some information about the publishers, film producers, resources, and organizations that serve the discipline (Exhibit Hall is going to be near the top of my to do list for sure!).

This is going to be my first conference so I’m not exactly sure what to expect but it will be nice to have a little bit of an understanding of the format before going to present at one or when attending for a job interview in the future– regardless of what discipline said future conference is for.

The blogging could go either way for this endeavor, I’m not sure how much time I will have each day to devote to it, so I am going to take notes in case an update is delayed. I will, however, be tweeting about the AAA conference rather frequently so feel free to follow me at @AlisonDeplonty.

Regardless, my bags are packed, itinerary is printed, and the blog is started and off to a good start. Which just leaves the 8 and a half hour drive tomorrow between me and the 2011 AAAs.

About alisondeplonty

I am an Archaeology MA student at The University of Western Ontario, studying the complex interactions of actors and actants, and their effect on the visitor experience, at the archaeological site museum Huacas del Sol y de la Luna, Trujillo, Peru. Public historian and public archaeologist at heart-- dissemination is key!

Posted on November 15, 2011, in AAA 2011 Conference. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

